Press "Enter" to skip to content

And Then There Were 31

Out of the many often clamorous voices that have defined the Northcoast MLPA process, Fish and Game has chosen 31 to rep them all.

As the state's regulatory machinery lurches forward, this contingent of fishermen, tribal leaders, enviros, seaweeders, kayakers, divers and others from Point Arena to the Oregon border will function as the public's collective voice. They'll meet with the scientists who are shaping the Northcoast's future and helping decide which parts of the coast will essentially be converted to state parks.

From Mendo, there's Robert Jamgochian, Mendocino High School of Natural Resources; Dave Jensen, Mendocino Coast Audubon Society; Larry Knowles, Rising Tide Sea Vegetables; Mendo teacher and Natural Resources Defense Council consultant Bill Lemos; Atta Stevenson, Inter-Tribal Council of California and Laytonville Rancheria; Valerie Stanley, Noyo River Indian Community; David Wright, NorCal Kayak Anglers and Surfrider Foundation, Mendo chapter; Benjamin Henthorne, environmental coordinator from the Hopland Band of Pomo Indians; Tom Trumper, Pacific Rim Seafood; Harold Wollenberg, professional geologist.

Here's the list from Humboldt & Del Norte:

  • Steve Chaney, Superintendent, Redwood National Park
  • Russ Crabtree, Tribal Administrator, Smith River Rancheria
  • Greg Dale, Southwest Operations Manager, Coast Seafood Company
  • John Dixon, Ecologist, California Coastal Commission
  • Henry "Ben" Doane, board member, Humboldt Area Saltwater Anglers and Klamath Management Zone Fisheries Coalition
  • Brandi Easter, member, Humboldt Skin Divers
  • Don Gillespie, retired teacher and board member, Friends of Del Norte and Smith River Alliance
  • Jacque Hostler, Chief Executive Officer and Transportation & Land-Use Director, Trinidad Rancheria
  • Tim Klassen, Owner, Reel Steel Sportfishing
  • Zack Larson, Consultant, Zack Larson and Associates and Chair, Del Norte County Fish and Game Advisory Commission
  • Kevin McGrath, member, Shelter Cove Fisherman's Alliance
  • Kevin McKernan, California Program Director, National Conservation System Foundation
  • Aaron Newman, President, Humboldt Fisherman's Marketing Association
  • Pete Nichols, Executive Director, Humboldt Baykeeper
  • Charlie Notthoff, Owner, Nothoff Underwater Service
  • Megan Rocha, Assistant Self Governance Officer, Yurok Tribe
  • Jennifer Savage, North Coast Program Coordinator, The Ocean Conservancy
  • Adam Wagschal, Conservation Director, Humboldt Bay Harbor, Recreation and Conservation District
  • Rob Wakefield, member, Del Norte Fisherman's Marketing Association
  • Reweti Wiki, Tribal Administrator, Elk Valley Rancheria
  • Richard Young, Chief Executive Officer and Harbormaster, Crescent City Harbor District


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *